Student Programming and Outreach

The mission of the Student Programming and Outreach committee of Student Government is to grant students the opportunity to express their views, discover their passions, and contribute to the Chapel Hill community. Student Programming and Outreach, also known as SPO, is composed of six sub-committees that span a diverse range of topics, allowing the Carolina community to delve into issues that matter and ensure that their voice is heard.


Committee Chair

Sreya Atluri ’19 |


Carolina’s Roundtable – Co-Chairs: Aja Crayton ( and Jermaine Bryant (

Carolina’s Roundtable is designed to foster meaningful dialogue between students, administrators, organizations and other key players on campus. Members will coordinate and host bimonthly campus forums that specifically address current policy issues. We will also host an end-of-year campus-wide Town Hall. These events aim to foster open discussions of relevant campus issues and contribute to an inclusive and communicative campus atmosphere.

Community Service – Co-Chairs: Evan Alpern ( and Erin Naziri (

The Community Service committee is responsible for organizing service events like the Public Service Fair and Christmas Toy Drive in order to engage with students and our local communities. These service efforts address our mission of increasing community-wide appreciation and gratitude. Furthermore, this committee directs an Executive Branch community service project, in conjunction with the State & External Affairs Task Force and other committees in Student Programming and Outreach, in order to give back to the community and encourage team building and communication.

First Year Focus Council (FYFC) – Co-Chairs: Austin Alpern ( and Savannah Putnam (

The First Year Focus Council is composed entirely of first years in order to provide them with Student Government experience, leadership roles, and event planning skills that are vital to becoming a skilled young leader at UNC. This council serves the role of acclimating the first-year class into Carolina. Members will host Annual Brown Bag Lunches and other events to represent and serve their first year class. Members will also create, sell, and distribute a Class of 2020 item in the hope of creating a sense of community within their class

Speakers at Carolina – Co-Chairs: Alex Hitson ( and Mary Grady Bell (

Speakers at Carolina seeks to promote curiosity by bringing inspiring lecturers to campus. We organize the Eve Marie Carson Lecture Series each fall, which honors Eve Carson’s vision to bring internationally and nationally renowned figures—men and women who have distinguished themselves through their ideals and accomplishments—for the purpose of stimulating a campus-wide dialogue about important contemporary issues. Speakers at Carolina also organizes the Chiron Award and Lecture Series in the spring, which allows students to nominate a professor to give the lecture he or she has always wanted to give.

Thanksgiv(spr)ing – Co-Chairs: Melissa Hirsch ( and Drake Broussard (

Thanksgiv(spr)ing is an annual free community lunch held in the heart of our campus. The event is a celebration of community, and is also a platform to raise awareness of homelessness and food insecurity in our community. The event is one of student government’s biggest projects: in the spring of 2015, our free lunch fed over 800 people from campus and the local community. This year we’ll be working with UNC Panhellenic, the Community Empowerment Fund, and many other local and campus organizations.

The Shirt – Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Brewer ( and Chase McConnachie (
As the pioneer sub-committee, it is the mission of The Shirt sub-committee to build a Carolina tradition that will encourage students to be united as one body. With this shirt, it is our goal that students will experience a camaraderie that is unlike any other with the proceeds being donated to the charity of choice each year.